Likud | political party, Israel |

Posted By on June 16, 2015

Likud,Hebrew in full Likud-Liberalim Leumi, English Unity-National Liberals, right-wing Israeli political party. It was founded in September 1973 to challenge the Israel Labour Party, which had governed the country since its independence in 1948, and first came to power in 1977, with Menachem Begin as prime minister. For decades thereafter, Likud alternated in government with the Labour Party, forming coalitions with minor parties, especially those with an ultrareligious or a nationalist ideology. Because of the countrys political fragmentation and unique security needs, Likud and Labour have sometimes entered into so-called unity governments with each other.

At its founding in 1973, the Likud coalition was dominated by the Gahal bloc, which consisted of the Herut (Freedom) party and the Liberal Party (Miflaget ha-Liberali). The Herut had its roots in the Russian Jewish Zionism of the 1920s and 30s and was formally organized in 1948, the year of Israels independence, in the merger of preindependence groups such as the Irgun Zvai Leumi. Some of the groups had been considered terrorist organizations by the British authorities. Begin, a Polish-born Jew, had been leader of the Irgun. The other member of the Gahal bloc, the Liberal Party, was formed in 1961 in the merger of the General Zionist Party (which was active from 1948 to 1961) and the smaller Progressive Party. Staunchly Zionist, it advocated retention of all territories conquered by Israel in the 1967 Arab-Israeli war. The other partners in Likud were relatively small, though they were often influential.

During Begins prime ministry (197783), Israel signed a peace treaty with Egypt, for which Begin was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize with Egyptian Pres. Anwar el-Sdt, and launched a controversial invasion of Lebanon. Although Begins peace initiative was popular both at home and abroad, it alienated many party stalwarts who opposed the return of any territories. In 1983 he was succeeded as prime minister and party leader by Yitzak Shamir, who governed in coalition with the Israel Labour Party from 1984 to 1990. Likud was ousted from government by a Labour-led coalition in 1992, and in 1993 Shamir was succeeded as party leader by Benjamin Netanyahu, who led the Likud coalition back to power in 1996. Netanyahu was defeated in 1999 by Labours Ehud Barak, but in 2001, capitalizing on increasing attacks by Palestinians against Israelis, Likud candidate Ariel Sharon convincingly defeated Barak. With Israel facing attacks from Palestinian militant groups, Sharon subsequently formed a unity government with Labour. In 2003 Likud doubled its seats in the Knesset from 19 to 38; after Labour refused to join a coalition, Sharon formed a coalition government with Shinui, a centrist party, the National Religious Party (Mafdal), and an electoral coalition representing nationalist and Russian voters. In 2005 a Likud-led government under Sharons leadership oversaw a complete pullout of Israeli soldiers and settlers from the Gaza Strip. Many Likud members opposed Sharons disengagement policy, and in November 2005 he left Likud to form the centrist party Kadima (Forward), taking many Likud moderates with him. Kadima won the largest share of seats in parliamentary elections in March 2006; by then the party was led by Ehud Olmert, after Sharon had suffered a debilitating stroke. Likud, led by Netanyahu after Sharons departure, fared poorly in the election, finishing fourth. In the 2009 general election, Kadima again led with the most Knesset seats (28); this time, however, Likud finished in second place, a single seat behind Kadima. Because of the close and inconclusive nature of the results, it was not immediately clear whether Netanyahu or Tzipi Livniwho had been elected to lead Kadima in September 2008would be invited to form a coalition government. Netanyahu was able to gather the support of a number of key parties in the days that followed, and, in spite of Likuds second-place finish, Pres. Shimon Peres invited Netanyahu to form the government.

For elections in 2013, Likud ran in a combined list with the nationalist Yisrael Beiteinu party. Both parties kept their own political platforms. The LikudYisrael Beiteinu bloc won the largest number of seats, returning Netanyahu to the prime ministership. However, the alliance fell short of expectations, winning fewer seats than the two parties had won separately in 2009.

Early elections were held in March 2015. Although analysts predicted that it would be a tight race between Likud and the Zionist Union, a centre-left alliance comprising the Labour and Hatnua parties, results showed a surprising victory for Likud, which won 30 seats, more than any other party.

Ideologically, Likud is both conservative and nationalist. It took an equivocal stance toward the 1993 peace accord between Israel (signed for the country by the Labour-led government of Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin) and the Palestine Liberation Organization; although Likud supported a peace with guarantees of security, it opposed ceding major portions of land to Palestinian control and dismantling Israeli settlements in the territories that Israel had conquered in 1967. However, in subsequent years the party grew increasingly divided over its policies concerning Palestine. In the early 21st century it adopted a policy opposing the establishment of a Palestinian state under any conditions.

Original post:
Likud | political party, Israel |


Comments are closed.